Syosset/Jericho Name Commended Students


Commend_100715AAfter naming 16 students as Merit Semifinalists last week, Syosset High School named 33 youngsters as commended students by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

With this great honor, the school congratulated Eugene Ahn, Rachel Baum, Jason Beck, Alexandra Chan, Emily Chen, Yang Yu Chen, Ishan Datt, Alexa De Leon, Daniel Forman, Jordyn Goldstein, Hanna Hong, Ryan Huie, Ian Kang, Justin Kang, Sungjae Kim, Ross Kliegman, Louis Ko, Ann Kogosov, Sarah Lee, Kylie Marlow, Arjun Mehrotra, Sourav Panda, Faith Park, Ryan Ritraj, Maxwell Salit, Harrison Schorr, Niv Skidan, Lauren Song, Jacob Sugarman, Kavan Wadhwa, Rossy Yang, Alexander Yu and Cindy Zhang.

These students are among 34,000 of the 50,000 high scorers on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test in 2014. They represent the top 5 percent of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2016 NMSC competition by taking the PSAT/NMSQT and will receive Letters of Commendation in recognition of their outstanding academic promise. —Syosset Schools

Meanwhile, the Jericho School District also honored its commended students. In addition to the 11 Jericho High School students named semifinalists for the National Merit Scholarship Program, the organization named 29 students to the National Merit Scholarship Program Commended Students list.

The following Jericho students are 2016 Commended Students, who were honored for their outstanding academic promise: Jake Carrion, Michael Carrion, Jason Chan, Nicole Chen, Cynthia Chu, Lauren Gold, Rachel Hahn, Matthew Herzog, Samyukta Jhavar, Joyce Jin, Uma Kanth, Gina Kim, Jonathan Lam, Dana Luong, Jason Micelotta, Ann Paulose, Nasif Quadir, Andrew Rabinowitz, Brianna Sa, Rishi Shah, Jihun Son, Matthew Swickle, Eric Wang, Robert Wong, Sarina Xu, Robert Yang, Yichen Zhang, Kevin Zheng and Shijia Zheng.

Although commended students do not continue in the competition for National Merit Scholarships, some of these students do become candidates for special scholarships sponsored by corporations and businesses. The National Merit Scholarship Program is managed by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, a non-profit organization dedicated to encouraging the pursuit of academic excellence. —Jericho Schools



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here